Watch Them Sneer

No one said it was easy,
This college life chosen.
At my age, you say?
What are you thinking?
That, my friend, the question of the day.
Over and over as the
Months and years flew by,
Twas one I asked myself.
Should I even try?
All the naysayers shook their heads,
Some even laughed and taunted.
While they smirked and giggled,
And their own fears they spread,
I walked my own path, undaunted.
I said no, I’ll rise above this.
I walked on my own volition,
I held my head high until fruition
Of the day I knew I made the grade.
And now, those naysayers?
Well, I watched those sneers fade.

~CWylde © 2015

8 thoughts on “Watch Them Sneer

  1. I’m still taking courses online to get my RN license eventually. Often the cost is prohibitive. I didn’t go back to college until I was in my forties. It is a little bit different. I really don’t understand what the stigma is. It’s as if some people think we’re supposed to stop learning. Good on you for pursuing your goals!

    poetryofthenetherworld dot blogspot dot com

    Like

Leave a Reply

