Never Knew

This challenge was to write a ballad about being overwhelmed. It was a challenge to write primarily because, well, I’m overwhelmed right now. In addition to being overwhelmed by life, writing a ballad only added to the feelings. So, I procrastinated and put it off until today. Sunday, only four days left. But I dove in and here it is. Enjoy!

Never Knew

I never knew how it happened,
I never really cared,
I must stare down that demon’s face
To show I’m never scared.

Deadlines come through the chaos,
Everyone wants a piece of my mind,
There’s no end in sight on this road,
No way to keep from falling behind.
I never knew how it happened,
I never really cared,
I must stare down that demon’s face
To show I’m never scared.

My nerves tell me I’m tumbling
Into a place I cannot abide.
I feel my resolve quaking,
There’s no where left to hide.

I never knew how it happened,
I never really cared,
I must stare down that demon’s face
To show I’m never scared.

From this world of mayhem
There is no solace or peace,
Hands shaking, lips quivering,
My mind’s maelstrom will not cease.

I never knew how it happened,
I never really cared,
I must stare down that demon’s face
To show I’m never scared.

Breathe, I remind myself over and over,
These are lessons meant to help me grow,
Close my eyes, think of a voice so calm,
Reminding me I can always say no.

I never knew how it happened,
I never really cared,
I must stare down that demon’s face
To show I’m never scared.

~CWylde © 2015

 

Leave a Reply

