First Breath of Morning

The dark night settled, and on it lingered,
Ghosts from the past raised their bony fingers.
Tears spilled through the night
Still glistened in the morning light.
Once again, alone in thought,
The demons in my solitude fought
For every breath I had left to give.
With every heart beat, I fight to live.
This quiet contemplation takes me deep,
My soul desires seem lost, still I weep.
For the little girl cowered in stark fear,
For the woman broken through so many tears.
The battle rages on through the bright daylight,
The tears will spill in the dark of the night.
And, still I fight on, still I push on,
Till the first breath of morning brings the new dawn.

~CWylde © 2016

2 thoughts on “First Breath of Morning

Leave a Reply

