Walk Away

A warm summer day filled with promises,
There, hidden in your favorite spot,
Your lies fell just like your moral compasses.
A kiss by the shore was all it took
To blind my searching heart
While I wondered if I could ever depart.
Or would I leave my head buried in the sands
Longing for a savior from these dark forbidden lands?
Those promises long forgotten
Swept to sea in the tempest and storms,
Where my heart was once down trodden,
My spirit soars to worlds unknown.
It’s time, my dear, to call it a night,
It’s time for me to take flight.
There’s no turning back now,
Nothing more to say,
The girl has grown, no asking how,
She’s strong enough now to simply
Walk away.

~CWylde © 2016

Leave a Reply

