My Thoughts

This world has become one of division, anger, and hatred. The news is filled with it – Orlando, Baton Rouge, Minnesota, Beirut, Dallas, and countless others. It spills over into Social Media. It carries over into our interactions on Twitter and Facebook.  It hurts and destroys. There is no justification. Hatred and anger become a virus that breeds upon itself, multiplying until all have forgotten that we are all connected in some form or fashion.

Since my time on Twitter, I have been a victim of cyberstalking. I have an ongoing investigation against a cyberstalker. I have fought hard for 1st Amendment rights, and fought for reinstatement of suspended poet accounts on Twitter that were targeted by a religious group that didn’t like what was being said. I took a lot of heat on that one, but I regret nothing, except, maybe I didn’t do as much as I could have.

But in the end, I learned that I have a voice. I have friends. I have integrity. And I have a heart for those that have none of those. I understand and empathize with even the so-called bad guys. I have learned that we never know what another has gone through or is going through. That last little jab? Might just be the one to send someone over the edge.

My point in this? I am an empath that “sees” and “feels” deeply. I see much more than is on the surface. I understand we are all human and make mistakes and bad judgement. All of us. I support my friends because they see my flaws and love me anyway.  I support my enemies when needed and when I see a wrong because that is the right thing to do. I look at all sides of a story knowing that there are always 3 sides. “Yours,” “Mine,” and the “Truth” somewhere in between. (Don’t know who originally said that, so forgive the lack of attribution, please.)

With that being said, I don’t understand needless attacks on any group – whether it’s religious, racial, gender, or just because “you” don’t like “them.” Sometimes, I want to rant and let my rage out, but I remember what it feels like to be the receiver of that rage. There is never justification of that. Ever.

Me? I’m nothing special. Just trying to do the best I can to make a difference in this world. Just having my moment of say in this time of hate and anger being thrown about so recklessly. Just trying to remind all of us that what we say about others, we say about ourselves. That is how connected we are.

If I can offer one person some hope and kindness, then I can sleep at night.  That? That, is worth this all.

© CRW 2016

Leave a Reply

